BookHounds has moved!

10/13/12

Review EMBRACE by JESSICA SHIRVINGTON @SourcebooksFire


Book Description

March 6, 2012 Embrace

It starts with a whisper: "It's time for you to know who you are..."
On her 17th birthday, everything will change for Violet Eden. The boy she loves will betray her. Her enemy will save her. She will have to decide just how much she's willing to sacrifice.

Dangerously exciting and darkly romantic, EMBRACE is a compelling novel of good and evil, seductive desires and impossible choices. A centuries old war between fallen angels and the protectors of humanity chooses a new fighter. It's a battle Violet doesn't want, but she lives her life by two rules: don't run and don't quit. If angels seek vengeance and humans are the warriors, you could do a lot worse than betting on Violet Eden.

LINCOLN: He's been Violet's one anchor, her running partner and kickboxing trainer. Only he never told her he's Grigori—part human, part angel—and that he was training her for an ancient battle between Angels and Exiles.

PHOENIX: No one knows where his loyalties lie, yet he's the only one there to pick up the pieces and protect her after Lincoln's lies. In a world of dark and light, he is all shades of gray.

Two sides: Angel or Exile.
Two guys: Lincoln or Phoenix.
The wrong choice could cost not only her life, but her eternity...

About the Author
How many of us can say we fell in love in high school? A lot of us. But how many of us stayed in love with the same person? Jessica Shirvington has been lucky enough to marry the man she fell in love with at seventeen, Matthew Shirvington--Olympic sprinter, five-time national 100m champion, and current sports personality with Australia's Foxtel and Sky News. Jessica and her family live outside Sydney, Australia, where she is currently working on the next book in the Embrace series.

SOURCE:  PUBLISHER
MY THOUGHTS
LOVED IT

Violet is just turning seventeen and on her birthday her father gifts her with a box her mother left her right before she died giving birth to her.  Yeah, that part is a real downer but it give Violet a bit of strength to go on.  Her BFF, Steph tries to get her in the mood for a celebration and dinner with her father.  Without Vi's knowledge, Steph invites her crush and work out partner, Lincoln.    At the hot night club for dinner, Vi and Linc start to dance when he leaves her on the dance floor and faster than you can say "love triangle" another guy takes his place and Vi's love.  Which is partly Linc's fault for running hot and cold with her.  Phoenix returns the Vi's misplaced lust and things get scary really fast.  Vi is just learning that she is part Angel and part human and there are a lot of things that go bump in the night, including her.

As Vi becomes more and more agreeable with her situation, she still wants nothing more to do with any of the Angels, good or bad.  So until her life really becomes endangered, she refuses to "embrace" the angel life until she absolutely has to and even then she is pretty much tricked into it.  At least she has Steph to unload on and that girl is a breath of fresh air full or snarky and intelligent comments.  Lincoln can't/won't tell Vi how he feels about her and that may be his downfall.  I adored how Vi is capable of learning from each situation and tries not to be too stupid to live which can be the downfall of a lot of main characters.  I was cheering for her! The fact that each character can neither be drawn perfectly good or evil adds a lot to the story so there is always that hope of redemption lurking.


This book really surprised me. I have read three Angel VS Demon books right in a row now and each one has been a bit different in their approach.  It took some serious arm twisting to get me to read this since I thought -- read one angel book you have read them all!  I am finding this is not the case. I really enjoyed this one and it was a really quick read for me.   I did think at parts of this book even the so called adults acted with petty high school standards but I have high hopes for the next installmetn. Fans of Courtney Allison Moulton and Lisa Desrochers should adore this series.  Parents:  there are mentions of drinking but since this story is written in another country where alcohol is more accepted, it is not glamorized -- just a fact of life.  There are also sexual situations but nothing graphic and a just bit of language here and there. 


Product Details

  • Reading level: Ages 13 and up
  • Hardcover: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire; 1 edition (March 6, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1402268408
  • ISBN-13: 978-1402268403

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for leaving a note! I try to reply to all conversations!