BookHounds has moved!

5/5/12

GIVEAWAY & REVIEW The Book of Madness and Cures by Regina O'Melveny @littlebrown





Book Description

April 10, 2012
Dr. Gabriella Mondini, a strong-willed, young Venetian woman, has followed her father in the path of medicine. She possesses a singleminded passion for the art of physick, even though, in 1590, the male-dominated establishment is reluctant to accept a woman doctor. So when her father disappears on a mysterious journey, Gabriella's own status in the Venetian medical society is threatened. Her father has left clues--beautiful, thoughtful, sometimes torrid, and often enigmatic letters from his travels as he researches his vast encyclopedia, The Book of Diseases.

After ten years of missing his kindness, insight, and guidance, Gabriella decides to set off on a quest to find him--a daunting journey that will take her through great university cities, centers of medicine, and remote villages across Europe. Despite setbacks, wary strangers, and the menaces of the road, the young doctor bravely follows the clues to her lost father, all while taking notes on maladies and treating the ill to supplement her own work.

Gorgeous and brilliantly written, and filled with details about science, medicine, food, and madness, THE BOOK OF MADNESS AND CURES is an unforgettable debut.



About the Author

Regina O'Melveny's poetry has been published widely in literary journals, garnering several prizes. She grew up at the edge of pungent chaparral in La Mesa, California, and chose to enroll at Callison College--a school of International Studies at the University of the Pacific--almost solely based upon the fact that the second year would be spent in India. Thus began her many extended travels that would later inspire The Book of Madness and Cures, her first novel. She lives in Rancho Palos Verdes, California.
SOURCE:  PUBLISHER
MY THOUGHTS
LOVED IT
As something of an oddity, Gabriella has been trained by her father to be a physician and she has found a true calling where she can minister to other women during the 16th century.  Unfortunately, she can no longer practice in male dominated Venice since her father has disappeared. The story follows Gabriella throughout Europe as she follows her father's letters to different countries and to his friend's homes.  During her travels, she finds more knowledge about medicine and bits and pieces of what happened to her father.  The ending will really catch you off guard even though each page lead to this conclusion.

The writing is just perfect and historically correct with enough detail and dialogue as to not be bogged down by being overly descriptive.  What shocked me most about the story is how women were mistreated and abused by male physicians during this time period.  The conditions they endured were truly horrifying and almost akin to rape!  What we take for granted in modern medicine certainly didn't exist in this time period.  I was so happy to read about one of my favorite time periods and from a female point of view.  Fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir should really enjoy this debut. 

WANT TO WIN A COPY OF THIS BOOK? 
Complete the below form 


Contest is open to anyone over 13 years old with a US or Canadian mailing address 
(sorry, no PO Boxes)
Contest ends on 5.26.12 Winner will be chosen by Random.org on 5.27.12
Winner will have 48 hours to respond to email or a new winner will be chosen.
This giveaway is sponsored by Little Brown and THREE copies are available.


Follow Me
Extra Entries
+1 Follow me on Twitter HERE 
+1 Like BookHounds on Facebook HERE 
+1 Like Win a Book on Facebook HERE
+1 Be my friend on Goodreads HERE
+1 for social networking this giveaway and leave me a link once daily per site
+1 Leave a comment -- you can do this daily, just leave me an email  or twitter address!

27 comments:

  1. I have this book on my wish list. Gabriella sounds like a compelling character. Thanks for the giveaway!

    bookofsecrets(at)yahoo(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've really been eying this one! It sounds so good!

    alibraryofourown at gmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  3. Tweeted!
    https://twitter.com/#!/LibraryOfOurOwn/status/199131105578852352

    alibraryofourown at gmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  4. This looks like a really interesting read. Thanks so much for the giveaway!

    Tweeted: http://maryinhb.blogspot.com/2012/05/giveaway-review-book-of-madness-and.html?spref=tw

    ReplyDelete
  5. Looking forward to getting a chance to win this book!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Tweeted!
    https://twitter.com/#!/LibraryOfOurOwn/status/199485593321881600

    alibraryofourown at gmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  7. Oops! I forgot my email on the last comment!

    alibraryofourown at gmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  8. Sounds like a super intriguing book, and I would LOVE to score a copy! I have my fingers crossed.

    Lilian @ A Novel Toybox
    lilianxchengATgmailDOTcom

    ReplyDelete
  9. Tweeted: https://twitter.com/lilboxism/status/200220412972503041

    lilianxchengATgmailDOTcom

    ReplyDelete
  10. Thank you SO much for this amazing giveaway.

    As a medical graduate who happens to be a woman, I'm definitely interested in Gabriella's plight. I can definitely connect with her - and I'm DYING to read this book. So, again, thank you for hosting a giveaway for this book.

    I tweeted the giveaway: https://twitter.com/#!/inluvwithbookz/status/200359109638365184

    Name: Hira Hasnain
    Email: Enamoredsoul(at)gmail(dot)com
    Twitter: @inluvwithbookz
    GFC: ~Enamored Soul~

    ReplyDelete
  11. I have been hearing a lot about this book. It sounds great and I'd love to read it. Thanks for having this giveaway.
    ayancey(at)dishmail(dot)net

    ReplyDelete
  12. Daily entry--
    Thanks for the giveaway.
    mtakala1 AT yahoo DOT com

    ReplyDelete
  13. Leaving my daily comment!

    lilianxchengATgmailDOTcom

    ReplyDelete
  14. Tweeted: https://twitter.com/lilboxism/status/200679830369476608

    lilianxchengATgmailDOTcom

    ReplyDelete
  15. Daily entry
    Thanks!
    mtakala1 AT yahoo DOT com

    ReplyDelete
  16. 5/12 daily entry
    Thanks!
    mtakala1 AT yahoo DOT com

    ReplyDelete
  17. 5/14 daily entry
    mtakala1 AT yahoo DOT com

    ReplyDelete
  18. Posted on facebook. Thanks for giveaway. Lomazowr@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  19. Daily entry 5/16
    mtakala1 AT yahoo DOT com

    ReplyDelete
  20. Daily entry 5/16
    mtakala1 AT yahoo DOT com

    ReplyDelete
  21. thank you for the chance this looks like its a great book

    sasie9@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  22. tweet

    https://twitter.com/sasiegirl/status/206009421355163648

    sasie9@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  23. shared on facebook

    http://www.facebook.com/wendi.bishop.9/posts/112458962225120

    sasie9@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  24. shared on google +

    https://plus.google.com/111188710869778547779/posts/Q7WNpQQrbpm

    sasie9@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  25. Another book I so want to win!

    Laura Kay
    anovelreview(@)yahoo(.)com

    ReplyDelete
  26. Ann at Cozy in Texas is the winner!

    ReplyDelete
  27. WINNERS:

    Barabra
    Diana from Book of Secrets
    Ingrid

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for leaving a note! I try to reply to all conversations!